O



Language navigation

Opportunity

Describe the opportunity:

  • Which trends (social/technological) and/or market changes are particularly relevant to your project?
  • How great is the market potential?

next step

Example

The most important trends/market changes connected with infospot

  • Growth of networking in public transport: Introduction of WiFi on public transport → Example: PostBus
  • Rise in data transmission rates (following Moore's law): It is possible today to supply an entire transport fleet with new information via a WiFi network in just a few seconds. This trend is set to continue and the costs of such systems will therefore decrease. Networking will provide other application opportunities, such as the use of images.
  • Multi-channelling: Multi-channel strategies are a trend in the advertising sector. The goal is to address the customer via multiple channels in a coordinated way in order to achieve the highest possible impact.
  • Increasing cost pressures: The pressure on costs among public transport companies continues to mount. They are forced to continue cutting costs or to generate new sources of income.
  • Rising number of passengers: The significance of public transport will continue to increase. Various studies have confirmed the upward trend in the number of passengers using public transport. This makes advertising concepts in public transport more attractive.

Market potential in public transport

Switzerland has a total of 414 companies in the public transport sector (Source: www.litra.ch). They transport over 2 billion people per year. An analysis of the figures reveals that through the selected target customers (23 companies) (Source: annual reports) some 70% of all passengers can be reached. The concept can be expanded during a subsequent phase to include all other transport companies and companies abroad.

Market potential in the Swiss advertising market

The Swiss advertising market generated net revenue of CHF 3.6 billion in 2010 (Source: www.werbestatistik.ch), of which CHF 608 million came from outdoor advertising. Advertising in public transport – as a portion of outdoor advertising – was CHF 56 million. Advertising revenue generated through sponsorships reached CHF 90 million (CHF 53 million for TV; CHF 37 million for radio). This does not include sponsorship costs at events. infospot is a new advertising concept that complements rather than competes with existing public transport advertising. It introduces sponsorship into public transport advertising.

O

Sprachnavigation

Opportunity

Beschreiben Sie die Marktchance:

  • Welche Trends (gesellschaftlich/technologisch) und/oder Marktveränderungen sind für Ihr Vorhaben besonders relevant?
  • Wie gross ist das Marktpotenzial?

 

Zum nächsten Schritt

Beispiel

Die wichtigsten Trends/Marktveränderungen im Zusammenhang mit infospot

  • Zunehmende Vernetzung im öffentlichen Verkehr: Einzug von Wireless in den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln → Bsp. PostAuto
  • Zunahme der Datenübertragungsraten (in Anlehnung an Moore's law): Es ist heute möglich, eine ganze Verkehrsmittelflotte in wenigen Sekunden über WiFi-Netze mit neuen Informationen zu versorgen. Dieser Trend wird weitergehen und wird die Kosten eines solchen Systems senken. Dies wird auch weitere Anwendungsmöglichkeiten erlauben, wie z. B. die Kombination mit Bild.
  • Multichanneling: Im Bereich der Werbung ist das Multichanneling ein Trend. Es geht dabei darum, den Kunden über verschiedene Kanäle koordiniert anzusprechen, um damit eine höchstmögliche Wirkung zu erzielen.
  • Zunehmender Kostendruck: Der Kostendruck bei den Unternehmen des öffentlichen Verkehrs nimmt weiter zu. Sie sind gezwungen, ihre Kosten weiter zu reduzieren oder neue Einnahmequellen zu generieren.
  • Steigende Fahrgastzahlen: Die Bedeutung des öffentlichen Verkehrs wird weiter zunehmen. Die Tendenz der steigenden Fahrgastzahlen wird in diversen Studien bestätigt. Dies wird die Attraktivität für Werbekonzepte im öffentlichen Verkehr weiter steigern.

Das Marktpotenzial im öffentlichen Verkehr

In der Schweiz gibt es insgesamt 414 Unternehmen im Bereich des öffentlichen Verkehrs (Quelle: www.litra.ch). Diese befördern jährlich über 2 Mia. Personen. Analysiert man die Zahlen, kann man mit den ausgewählten Zielkunden (23 Unternehmen) rund 70% aller beförderten Personen abdecken (Quelle: Geschäftsberichte). Das Konzept soll in einer späteren Phase auch auf die übrigen Verkehrsbetriebe und das Ausland ausgedehnt werden können.

Das Marktpotenzial im Schweizer Werbemarkt

Der Werbemarkt Schweiz generierte 2010 einen Netto-Umsatz von 3.6 Mia. CHF (Quelle: www.werbestatistik.ch). Der Anteil der Aussenwerbung war 608 Mio. CHF. Der Bereich Verkehrsmittelwerbung – als Teil der Aussenwerbung – lag bei 56 Mio. CHF. Der Bereich Sponsoring generierte Werbeeinnahmen in Höhe von 90 Mio. CHF (TV: 53 Mio. CHF; Radio: 37 Mio. CHF). Darin sind Sponsoringausgaben bei Veranstaltungen nicht enthalten. infospot ist ein neues Werbekonzept, das nicht in Konkurrenz mit der Verkehrsmittelwerbung steht, sondern eine Ergänzung darstellt. Es bringt das Sponsoring in die Verkehrsmittelwerbung.